Today I want to speak on knowing yourself and knowing your worth. Many people go day by day without even knowing who they are. If you asked yourself Who am I, and couldn’t come up with an answer, then you don’t know yourself.
A lot of people think that they know themselves until they realize they’ve been allowing people to treat them any kind of way. A lot of people think they know themselves, until they swear they’re done with those people, but end up running back to the ones that are doing them harm either mentally, emotionally, or physically.
The most important part about knowing yourself is self-love (check out this article on recognizing self love Are You The Love Of Your Life ? by Esme – I’ll be doing a follow up on the paths and journeys of self love).
The topics I’ll be covering are:
What is knowing yourself?
What is self Worth?
How do I know myself?
How do I know my worth?
I’ll be doing a follow article on how to get people to treat you according to your worth, but first things first: What is knowing yourself?
Does knowing yourself have to do with what you do and how others view you? If you say yes to this question, then you’re already on the wrong track. Knowing yourself is actually the opposite, because you don’t define yourself by what people say about you or how they treat you. Only you can define who you are inside.
Knowing yourself to me is standing in your truth, discovering new things about yourself like self-control, resistance, acceptance and patience; there are a lot of things you can discover about yourself. Taking time to figure out what those things are is important, because it effects the way you move, the things you do, and the things you say.
Another element of knowing yourself is staring at each flaw and owning them, loving them, striving to improve them. You want to mentally list your wrongs and that includes factoring in the things others have observed and work on those wrongs. Knowing yourself is also a healing process working through the damages that’s been done and growing pass them.
Now let’s move on to knowing your worth. Knowing your worth comes after knowing yourself. Your worth is who you’ve become after the journey of learning who you are.
Knowing your worth is more about strength, mental growth into a better you; you either walk different, talk different and act different for the better of yourself.
You no longer look for acceptance because you’ve accepted yourself. You no longer accept the definition of what others have said about you because you found your true definition of yourself. When you know your worth, you don’t accept anything less than who you are now and you must remove anything or anyone that threatens that growth and continued growth.
I can stand today and tell you who I am. I’m more than what people think of me. I don’t need approvals. I’m no longer scared – I’m fearless. I’m pure, I’m kind, and I’m a warrior of God. I am ,I know me, I know my worth, and I know what and what not to accept.
So if you’re reading this and you want to be more aware of yourself, take those steps and get to meet yourself; each and every day is a learning growing process.
Sometimes you are going to misstep and take steps back… but you must aim to take more steps forward. Learning who you are is a never-ending journey; you’ll always discover more of yourself daily, and you’ll always continue molding and shaping your self-worth daily.
If you’re reading this it’s not too late: know yourself, know your worth.

Leave a Reply

